top of page
Writer's pictureV_Devlin

1 hour mix and updated mix


side-chaining i did in a session

I recently was given a task to do a mix within one hour. I had never been given this challenge before and I was a little panicked however it is a fun task to do. It is a good idea when you have spare time just to play around with a mix or some files and just get it to sound the best you can and to fit the genre you are aiming for as much as possible all within the space of an hour.


It is also fun to troubleshoot issues as they arise and to also play around and deal with what you have the best you can here are the original files:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1tRAatI7pSjkf6B52YUBhzADI4mjhKP1W



Here is my first attempt at the one hour mix. Not knowing the context and not having a smooth functioning session in Protools:


Poor one hour mix:

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1-xDkK1XdJ9pEd05t5d0dTyxWrJYrr29q


Upon listening to the track, reflecting on it and the references more it would seem that the song would fit in a punk rock setting. This conclusion was drawn due to the way the vocals carried themselves, sort of not fully clear but also sharp and a bit punchy to listen to. During the mixing process I used some side-chaining to help reduce the noise of the instrumental in the background to bring up the vocals to hear them a bit clearer. I then used some eq to soften some of the high frequencies in the vocals as It was slightly difficult to listen to in the dry mix. I also did this as it suited the punk rock genre better for a slightly smoother, yet still rough tone to the vocals. I also did some side chaining on the guitars as in particular the last section of the song the guitars became too empowering over the whole mix but only in that one section. I used side chaining to trigger in that section so that the vocals and other elements could come out better and clearer.


Here is the second mix I did when I was a but more prepared and confident to get some decent changes to the mix before the hour was up.


https://drive.google.com/open?id=1L7GqRhU0bDehnASy2ykNYsiDOPDJ5YCe


4 views0 comments

Commentaires


bottom of page